Where are the Super Rugby Teams From?

The 2020 Super Rugby season kicks off on the 31st of January, 2020. The fifteen teams involved in the competition have been confirmed; 4 teams from Australia, 4 teams from South Africa, 5 teams from New Zealand, 1 team from Japan and 1 team from Argentina.

Where are the Super Rugby Teams From

Each of these teams will be played 16 matches throughout the season; eight of those matches will be played within the own conference, and four matches against teams from the two other conferences.

Leaders of each conference will advance to the quarterfinals as host while the 4th host would be the next-best ranked team in the overall Super Rugby standing. The next four teams in the overall standing of the Super Rugby will make up the away side of the quarterfinals.

The final of the 2020 Super Rugby will be played on the 21st of June, 2020.

Get to Know the Teams

Here are the fifteen teams participating in the competition;

  • Blues (New Zealand)
  • Brumbies (Australia)
  • Bulls (South Africa)
  • Chiefs (New Zealand)
  • Crusaders (New Zealand)
  • Highlanders (New Zealand)
  • Hurricanes (New Zealand)
  • Jaguares (Argentina)
  • Lions (South Africa)
  • Rebels (Australia)
  • Red (Australia)
  • Sharks (South Africa)
  • Stormers (South Africa)
  • Sunwolves (Japan)
  • Waratahs (Australia)

*teams are ranked alphabetically

Crusaders head to the competition as overwhelming favorites to lift the trophy. If they do go on to win, this would be their fourth on the bounce and eleventh overall.

You can watch Super Rugby online on streaming services that offer access to the channels that broadcast the championship. Australian fans can watch their favorite teams on Network One. The free-to-air network will provide a full match replay of matches featuring at least one Aussie team.

United States fans can stream online on streaming services such as Sling TV, Direct TV (AT&T NOW TV) and PlayStation TV. These apps offer access to ESPN channels, which is the official broadcaster of the 2020 season in the United States.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *